Tuesday, 22 August 2017


"and stuff like that"
Year:  2016
Country:  Australia
City:  Melbourne
Label:  Swerve
Format:  CD
Tracks:  12
Time:  30 min.
Genre:  rock
Style:         Mod         Hard Rock

Named after the 1971 Alan Arkin-directed film, Rob Griffiths formed Little Murders in 1979 and they soon became the most influential mod band during the late '70s and early '80s in Melbourne, Australia. The band's debut single, "Things will Be Different"/"Take Me I'm Yours," (December 1979), quickly sold its initial 1000 copies and remains a classic Australian pop record of the time. They released two more singles on the Au-go-go label: "High School"/"Trouble With Love" and "She Lets Me Know"/"It's Over." Guitarist/vocalist Rob Griffiths released the single "Melody"/"Waiting" during this time under the name Dance Set in 1981. By 1982 the lineup comprised Rob Griffiths, Rod Hayward on guitar, Chris Hunter on bass, and Michael Barclay on drums. Unable to secure a new record deal, Griffiths broke up the band in December 1983. The band had a revival of sorts in 1985 when Polyester Records issued the "100 Drugs"/"The Beat Goes On" single (recorded in 1983 and 1979, respectively). Au-go-go issued the retrospective album of singles and unreleased work titled Stop! in 1986. A full revival followed in late 1995 when Griffiths recorded a new album, ...And Stuff Like That, with Rod Hayward, Phil Wales (guitar), Craig Pilkington (guitar), Tony Ennis (bass), and Dave Foley (drums). The album was released in June 1997 and comprised new and previously released material. Griffith's took Little Murders on the road with another lineup consisting of Tony Ennis, Paul Thomas (guitar), and Michael Barclay (drums) from Weddings, Parties, Anything. Their second album, First Light, was released on the Swerve label in September 1998 and produced the singles "10,000 Guitars" and "Andy Warhol Retrospective." ~ Brendan Swift
  Discogs   ,   Lastfm  ,  Download  ,  Web   ,  Blog  ,  Facebook  ,  Myspace  ,  V K 

No comments:

Post a Comment